Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    MamoonUlHaq Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 4, 2012, 04:12 AM
    Need basic help regrading printers.
    Hi,

I'm currently working on something that you might call a Wireless Facsimile.
    The problem is that I'm an absolute newbie when it comes to printers and I was thinking if you people could help me out.
    I need to learn how printers work and the first thing I need to do is simply print a page. The problem is that wherever I search printer related info, there are simply commands and no straightforward way to send data to a printer specified.

Important: I have to print a page WITHOUT using a computer.
    I plan to interface it later on with a microcontroller and will have to
    Write drivers to make it all work.
    smoothy Posts: 25,490, Reputation: 2853
    Uber Member

Jun 4, 2012, 06:02 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by MamoonUlHaq View Post
    Hi,

I'm currently working on something that you might call a Wireless Facsimile.
    The problem is that I'm an absolute newbie when it comes to printers and I was thinking if you people could help me out.
    I need to learn how printers work and the first thing i need to do is simply print a page. The problem is that wherever i search printer related info, there are simply commands and no straightforward way to send data to a printer specified.

Important: I have to print a page WITHOUT using a computer.
    I plan to interface it later on with a microcontroller and will have to
    write drivers to make it all work.
    You need to start with what TYPE of printer... Laser, inkjet, thermal, dot matrix... all work by VERY different principles.
    MamoonUlHaq Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jun 4, 2012, 08:08 AM
    Im using a laser printer.
    I don't have much problem with the interfacing. I intend to use a serial one using a microcontroller.