Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    aniqagill Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

May 9, 2012, 10:45 AM
    Written up for HIPAA violation
    I work with walgreens pharmacy for 6 years.a week ago I forgot to put the confidential information bag inside the confidential locked in in hurry to help th patients waiting outside the pharmacy.the next day the store manager took pictures of the bag which was not transparent at all and send to the hr dept.after a week later loss and prevention came to the pharmacy where I work as a pharmacy tech.and suspended me for that.all confidential information was saved and there was no exposure of the information to any one and I believe that the company has been very harsh and wrongful in my case.I have an interview with the hr dept tomorrow and I am wondering that they should not fire me for that and I need advice in my matter please.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

May 9, 2012, 11:27 AM
    First, its not a good idea to piggyback your question on another thread. To avoid confusion your question has been moved to its own thread.

If I understand you, there is a confidential info bag in the store BEHIND the pharmacy counter. While you did put records into that bag, you neglected to secure it in some way. Do I have it correct?

Companies are very sensitive to HIPAA violations, but I agree this appears to be an overreaction. On the other hand, most states are at will employment. Which means they can fire you for almost any reason except discrimination. So if they do fire you, you have little recourse.

I would take the position with HR, that you have not had any previous issues, that you understand your mistake and will not repeat it. But that you feel , since no patient info, was really exposed, that the punishment is not in keeping with the nature of the violation.
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

May 9, 2012, 02:34 PM