Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mylace05 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 23, 2007, 09:27 AM
    How do I start from scratch at the age of 40 something?
    Hi everyone, I am new to this and don't have a clue. I am starting over in my life and have spent my years taking care of everyone but me. I recently suffered a huge loss and have been at loose ends. I am moving in to my own apt. soon. I have lots of debt and don't know how to pay it off. I am in college for 1 more year. Not in a relationship and don't want to be at this time. I am kind of scared, any suggestions?
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Feb 23, 2007, 09:29 AM
    What, particularly, are you asking about? The debt? A relationship? Starting over in general?
    ordinaryguy Posts: 1,790, Reputation: 596
    Ultra Member

Feb 23, 2007, 10:21 AM
    Was your "huge loss" financial or physical or emotional, or some of each?
    valinors_sorrow Posts: 2,927, Reputation: 653
    I regard all beings mostly by their consciousness and little else

Feb 23, 2007, 10:39 AM
    It helps to think of this not as a starting over but moving up a level instead. You may not have all the "things" you did recently but you are not the same person either. This is the older, wiser, better version of you. Now you are taking care of you -- good for you! That is a big step some people never get to, by the way. I too have moved up levels, several times now and it does feel like starting over at times. It helps me to focus on what is coming. And soon enough I have replacements for the "things" I lost before. Its important to remember that not possible to acquire new and improved aspects of our lives without first letting go of the old ones. Transitions are also never a graceful time for any human, Mylace. Its just how we are. I hope that helps and good luck.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search