Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    josie63 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 26, 2012, 01:10 PM
    Am I just having a problem with letting go of my 19 year old daughter?
    Well, it's my first time here and I'm hoping somebody can guide me with my feelings. My daughter is 19 years old. In the past, she has been very good about asking before going places, and/or also being home more. I know... she is also older now and that's going to change BUT why do I feel like I am missing time together with her? For example, yesterday she went to her boyfriend's house around 6pm and was home after 2am. Today, she texted me letting me know that she was going to the mall with friends around 11am... now she lets me know that she'll be home around 5, will be heading out at 6:30 to see a play and is going out to a club tonight around 11pm. She will probably be sleeping over at a girlfriend's and then be back tomorrow afternoon. She does have a part-time job right now and will be starting University in the fall. I guess the mother-daughter relationship is changing and Im just having a hard time with it.
    Please let me know if this is all normal? Am I making too much out of it? Am I just feeling that I am losing control and want to have more control over her?
    ANY WORDS OF WISDOM WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED~~
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Apr 26, 2012, 01:23 PM
    You are not making too much out of it, it is a hard and tough time.

It is normal and it is changes you will just have to adjust to. No way to make it easy
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Apr 26, 2012, 01:39 PM