Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    josh1278 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Feb 22, 2007, 04:04 PM
    Theft Under 5000: 19 Years
    2 days ago I was caught shoplifting at a 24 hour grocery store with some friends. The police charged me with Theft under 5000 and possession under 5000. This is my first offence. I am scheduled to appear in court in April. Is there any way this incident can stay off my record? I've heard of an alternative measures program... but I am not sure how to apply to it. I am a university male student from Ontario, Canada. Any suggestions would be great. I am really nervous about could happen to me. Thanks.
    zhhhane Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 22, 2007, 04:22 PM
    Yo man. I am a University student here in BC. I have also worked as a Probation Officer, a Correctional Officer and as a Parole Officer. I would venture to say that you talk with your lawyer and ask them to help get you into the alternative measures program in your community. There are also options that include apologies to the store owner as well as restitution but both of these come with a criminal record now that you over the age of 19. When your sentence is finished you can then after a legislated period apply for a pardon. Good Luck.

Feb 22, 2007, 05:53 PM
    Thanks a lot for the help. I've scheduled an appointment with a lawyer... and I'm currently writing an apology to the store owner. I'm going to let him look it over before I send it. I really hope this alternative measures program works out. Thanks again.

Feb 23, 2007, 01:52 PM