Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Jacquelynrenee Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 16, 2012, 06:57 AM
    What is the best route to becoming a Customs Broker?
    I am thinking about getting my Custom's broker license for a family business. I have no idea where to even start and really would like to know the very best route to passing the exam. I am starting from nothing, I have no background in customs or being a broker. I am looking to pass the exam without spending hundreds and hundreds of dollars.
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Apr 16, 2012, 07:55 AM
    The cost of the exam (alone) is $200. So you already are required to spend "hundreds" of dollars to even sit the exam.

You obviously need to understand tariffs, rates, import/expert. You need to be insured and bonded - also expensive.

This is not an easy road.

I'm ex-US Customs.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Books to study for Customs Broker Exam [ 11 Answers ]

Where can I get books to study at home to become a Customs Broker? I just want to study and prepare for the April test with out paying a fortune for a online 'course'. Can anyone direct me?? Thanks in advance!

Route in Automne [ 1 Answers ]

I have a very old picture let to me by my grandmother. It has Paris Etching Society NY USA in the upper right hand corner. It is titled "Route en Automne - France -" In front of the title is a circle with SZL. There is a signature that looks like Marie Founday. Is there any value besides my...

How does one broker transfer security deposit to another broker [ 1 Answers ]