Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    stephanie35 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Apr 9, 2012, 09:35 AM
    Should I violate HIPAA
    I work at Women's Health Office and My best friend's 15 year old daughter came in and got a abortion, she didn't need her parents consent. Under HIPAA privacy rule, I cna't tell her mother. I want her mother to know. What should I do? Do I confront the daughter? I know keeping this to myself is breaking the law, what should I do without breaking the HIPAA Rule?
    RickJ Posts: 7,762, Reputation: 864
    Uber Member

Apr 9, 2012, 10:31 AM
    You could be terminated and/or sued for violating HIPAA.

I'm not a HIPAA expert, but you should look at it closely before even considering talking to the patient about it.

Consider another line of work if you have a problem with working for an employer who gives abortions to 15 year old girls without their parent's consent.

... just my humble opinion. I feel for you, Stephanie. It's a tough situation to be in.
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert

Apr 9, 2012, 11:00 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by stephanie35 View Post
    ... I know keeping this to myself is breaking the law ...
    I think you mean "... not keeping this to myself... ".

I cannot ethically advise you to break the law, unless there is a "higher law" which would supercede HIPAA. I don't see that there is.

Ask yourself what good you might accomplish by telling the mother. I have strong pro-life feelings myself, but it seems to me that what's done is done. My advice is to leave this up to God and the daughter.
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Apr 9, 2012, 11:52 AM
    You do nothing. This girl has a right to privacy. For you to do ANYTHING would be to risk your job, as well as violating her rights.