Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    abhijeetkushe Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Apr 3, 2012, 02:15 PM
    F-1 Student regarding Work related education (Important)
    Hi,

I am an F-1 student from India with work experience in a leading IT consultancy firm for 3.7 years where my job duties involved Software development.I have also done my Bachelor's in Information Technology.I have been doing my Masters in Information Systems at a University in Boston since Fall 2010.I have prepared my tax documents from H&R block and they have entered my education expenses for my courses in Spring 2011 as Work Related Education Expense in Schedule A of 1040NR with field as Information Tech.I have also done a Co-op(long term internship) in a leading Bank in its Technology Division as Technology Analyst Co-op (Actually a Seasonal Worker) (Software Development) from July to December in New Jersey.So I have this query regarding whether I can claim my education expense in this case.I had asked my consultant she said yes with the reason that "my education does match my field of business".
    After reading the document Publication 970 Chapter 12 I was not able to clearly make out whether I can claim this expense.The master education I am doing now is definitely used for maintaining or improving my skills as well as I do qualify the rule "Education during temporary absence" of 1 year or less.My last date in TCS in India was July 13 whereas my Coop joining in Goldman Sachs was 11 July.Kindly let me know at the earliest whether I can claim this expense or not

Apr 3, 2012, 02:22 PM
    Just to clarify the position is a Seasonal Employee (Which is treated as a Co-op on CPT by the company as it does not have a specific Co-op position)
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Apr 3, 2012, 02:35 PM
    It is my considered opinion that you CANNOT claim the tuition costs for the Master's degree as an employee business expense.