Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    spreetham Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 20, 2007, 11:13 AM
    F-1 for more than 5 years
    I came to USA in JULY 2000 and graduated with an MS in Dec 2002. Was on OPT all of 2003 and started my second Masters in Jan 2004. I worked as a research assistant at school and in 2006 got an internship in MAY and worked on CPT. I continued working full time as an intern through fall 2006 and also went to school full time in fall. The company I worked for did my H1 and my H1 started in Nov 2006. I am confused about my tax status and as to what forms I need to fill out.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 20, 2007, 11:17 AM
    You need to file as a resident alien for BOTH 2005 and 2006.

The five-year period where you would file as a non-resident alien under the F-1 visa expired on 31 Dec 04.
    spreetham Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 20, 2007, 11:56 AM
    That means I need to file 1040 or 1040ez and can't claim the standard deduction. Am I correct?
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 20, 2007, 11:14 PM
    No, you CAN claim the standard deduction for both 2005 and 2006.

If you need professional tax advice, contact me at [email protected].

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Trying for 2 years [ 2 Answers ]

I am trying for almost two years. But the doctors dignose me a large fibroid on my uterus. I don't think this is the cause but I decided to remove the fibroid and pray my god. Please tell me if you have anything like this also caused infertility/

5 years... [ 11 Answers ]