Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    linzie93 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Mar 26, 2012, 05:08 AM
    Should I keep my baby or put him up for adoption?
    I'm new to this type of thing, I don't normally ask questions on these sites, but I'm really confused about what I should do. I guess I'll start by introducing myself and my situation.

My name is Lindsay, I'm 19, and I'm due in just 2 weeks on April 9th. Getting pregnant was a big mistake that happened with a guy I barely knew. After we had sex, we never talked or hung out or anything, I never even really like him, so it was just some stupid thing that I did that I wish I could take back but can't.

Just a month after that, my really good friend of over a year asked me out, and I was really glad cause I liked him for a long time, I just never thought he liked me too. I found out I was pregnant 2 months later, and I thought he's leave me when I told him, because it obviously wasn't his baby since we hadn't had sex. He didn't though, and he's stayed with me all this time. He's been the best boyfriend I could ask for. Originally though, I said I was going to give the baby up for adoption, but now, I really love this baby and I think I want to keep him. My boyfriend says he doesn't want to stay with me if I do though, which I completely understand, but that just makes my decision harder! I know relationships come and go and that I shouldn't base my decision off that, but it's really hard.

Apart from that, I'm not sure if I'm ready to have the responsibility of taking care of a baby. I'm a full time college student, and I'm trying to get a four year degree. Sometimes I think it would be best for me and the baby to give him up, but every time I think about it, my heart breaks.

Does anyone have any advice on what I should do? I try talking to family and friends about it, but of course they all want me to keep him. I need some unbiased opinions.. I'm running out of time to decide :(