Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    alanoue616 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Mar 13, 2012, 01:46 PM
    Can I terminate my lease if my landlord has failed to remedy a roach infestation?
    I am currently renting an apartment in Arizona. I have been battling with a persistent roach problem for almost two months. I have been sprayed, baited and sprayed, baited and sprayed again, and just recently been bombed. The roaches are still there. I have done everything I need to do e.g. Taking out the trash, not leaving food out, cleaning all the time. My landlord refuses to let me go with out paying all the fees of breaking a lease. I have given them a 10 day demand for repairs. It was my understanding that they have 10 days to fix the problem. My landlord insists that they can do whatever they want for how ever long they want and as long as they are "trying" to fix the problem I can't leave. Is this true? If several attempts have been made to get rid of the problem and it still exhists am I forced to stay. Or break the lease and be penalized?
    slapshot_oi Posts: 1,537, Reputation: 589
    Ultra Member

Mar 13, 2012, 02:59 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by alanoue616 View Post
    My landlord insists that they can do whatever they want for how ever long they want and as long as they are "trying" to fix the problem I can't leave. Is this true?
    We didn't draft your lease, so we can't answer that.

I do have some advice though: clean your apartment and then take pictures to use as potential evidence in small claims court should he try to keep your security deposit.

Get familiar with your lease. Carefully read the sections that describe the landlord's responsibilities and your rights as a tenant. Then, read through Arizona's state laws regarding tenant rights.