Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    VolleyballGal17 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Mar 5, 2012, 07:06 PM
    How can I skip 8th grade and go straight to high school?
    I'm 13 and I'm in 7th grade now, I am a September baby therefore I could be in 8th grade but I started late. My dad and I have been thinking about moving me up a grade. I'm a straight A student and I'm in advanced classes. Is there any way possible (in Arizona) that I could take online classes during the summer to help me be able to go straight to high school next year?
    cdad Posts: 12,700, Reputation: 1438
    Internet Research Expert

Mar 5, 2012, 07:19 PM
    Have you talked to anyone at your school about making the jump forward? Your principle may be able to recommend how you can achieve that. Congrats on being straight A's. Good Job.
    ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Mar 5, 2012, 07:28 PM
    Cutoff dates for entry into school change from time to time and state to state. The chances of skipping a grade now are slim. I too congratulate you on getting straight A's in the 7th grade material. However, the curriculum for 8th grade is different, what makes you believe you would have a sufficient understanding of materials you have never read or been exposed t? In our school 7th graders study Biology while 8th grades study Physics. How would you expect to make up that gap? Do have your dad speak with the principal. I would not bother doing that on your own.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Mar 5, 2012, 07:32 PM
    Your dad ( where is your mom?) needs to go to the school and talk to the counselor and then to the Principal. Each school will have its procedure and rules ( even if that rule is no they don't do it) Often you may have to take the national test for your next year, such as take the 8th grade end of the year test and make passing grades in it.