Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Shadow7793 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 5, 2012, 11:19 AM
    My father died, how should I get help?
    My father passed away in my kitchen, right in front of me, then he came back, had a seizure and died again. I keep having dreams about it, and flashbacks. Sometimes when I'm lying down at night, I can hear him screaming for help. I just want these images out of my head. Every day I think about suicide because I cannot stand to be away from him. I just turned 18 and this is my first time dealing with something like this. How should I get help?
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Mar 5, 2012, 11:23 AM
    Not "how should you get help" but "where."

Have you looked for a counselor in your area, someone who works with grieving clients?
    indya Posts: 357, Reputation: 58

Mar 5, 2012, 09:15 PM
    Wondergirl is right. Get a counselor to help you. My dad too died in front of my eyes, I had recurring nightmare for about six months. It was terrible. But I was much better off after I sought help.
    Alty Posts: 28,317, Reputation: 5972
    Pets Expert

Mar 5, 2012, 09:31 PM
    I too got counseling after my parents died, and it helped me a great deal.

There are many counselors that specialize in grief counseling. Look up counselors in your area, make an appointment, and get the help you need.

Dealing with loss is never easy. There's no reason that you have to deal with this alone, and what you're feeling is perfectly normal. There is help out there, so get it. It will help a great deal.
    awesomagic Posts: 69, Reputation: 46

Mar 7, 2012, 11:23 AM
    It's strange. I didn't get counseling after my dad's death. I didn't know how I was going to get along without him. Then I understood that I knew a lot of people who had lost their parents and they are doing just fine. I realized that I was no special case. It just so happened that his death was special to me.