Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Leidenschaftlich für Wahr Posts: 243, Reputation: 46

Feb 21, 2012, 11:43 PM
    Question about embryonic freezing/ectopic pregnancy...
    I'm wondering... How old is too old to freeze an embryo and it still have the ability to someday be implanted? It's difficult to phrase right... Like, from fertilization of an egg, grown in a test tube, then frozen.
    The reason I'm wondering is because I'm studying about ectopic pregnancy, and I was curious if a 5 or 6 week pregnancy could be removed and frozen until we possibly discovered a way to implant the baby, or grow it in a test tube outside of the mother.

Thanks!
    DoulaLC Posts: 10,488, Reputation: 1952
    Uber Member

Feb 23, 2012, 06:00 PM
    Unfortunately it would not be possible at 5 or 6 weeks as the embryo would already be implanted. In the case of an ectopic pregnancy, implanted in a location other than the uterus.

When embryos are frozen, they may be anywhere from fertilization to several days old.
    Leidenschaftlich für Wahr Posts: 243, Reputation: 46

Feb 24, 2012, 03:19 AM
    What prevents an enbryo/fetus from being capable of regenerating itself after freezing? Could an embryo from an ectopic pregnancy be frozen, hoping for the possibility that science would someday find a way to resuscitate it?
    DrBill100 Posts: 3,241, Reputation: 502
    Ultra Member

Feb 24, 2012, 03:43 AM
    Define life and we can progress from there.
    DoulaLC Posts: 10,488, Reputation: 1952
    Uber Member

Feb 24, 2012, 04:51 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Leidenschaftlich für Wahr View Post
    What prevents an enbryo/fetus from being capable of regenerating itself after freezing? Could an embryo from an ectopic pregnancy be frozen, hoping for the possibility that science would someday find a way to resuscitate it?