Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pf1student Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 8, 2012, 06:01 PM
    I'm on F1 visa, my company does not cut any taxes, what process do I follow for taxes
    Hi, I'm a F1 student from India, on OPT. I graduated in may, and have been working with a small company. They do not cut any taxes and give me the whole check. So can someone please help me with the whole process that I need to follow?

I had filed my taxes last year, but that was done by the university. So this is going to be my first year filing taxes on my own. Also, my friends get their taxes deducted from their checks, so I am the only one among my friends who gets a whole check. Hence, can some one please help me with this by providing "ALL" the required steps that are applicable in my case right from the very beginning.

Thanks a lot!
    MukatA Posts: 7,110, Reputation: 176
    Tax Expert

Feb 9, 2012, 03:28 AM
    Did you get W-2 or 1099-misc? File your tax return form 1040-NR or 1040NR-EZ and form 8843.
    pf1student Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 9, 2012, 02:15 PM
    Hi MukatA,

Thanks for the reply. I have also been researching around on my own. Its exactly as you have suggested, this is what I have gotten till now.

- Get the W2 form from the company
    - Write a check for the tax owed
    - Fill the 1040-NR and 8843

Send off a copy of the W2, check, 1040-NR and 8843. Is this all I have to do or are there any additional steps?

Once again thanks a lot for the quick response! :)

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

How do I file for taxes? (F1 Visa, OPT, Company does not withhold taxes) [ 1 Answers ]