Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    paul06 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Jan 8, 2012, 03:31 PM
    Phone jack dead
    I have at least six phone jacks throughout the house. The one in the master bedroom is not working; all the rest are normal. I have no knowledge of the phone system wiring. I did check one of the other jacks and it the same colors are wired to like terminal as in the bedroom. The only difference is the one I checked [working fine] has two wires of the same color to each terminal. I tried a working phone in the bedroom terminal. It also did not work. I bought a new wall jack and installed it without success. I am OK with 110 volt current testing, but have no clue about a phone line. The wires are behind the wall and go up somewhere. Before I start to trace this wiring, I would like to eliminate a possible problem in the wiring near the jack. My jack has four terminals with wires leading from the terminals to the jack input. Colors are Black, Orange, Green, and yellow. From the wall attached to the black is a stripped white/orange wire. To the orange terminal is a stripped white/blue wire. To the green terminal is a solid blue wire. To the yellow is a solid orange wire. Any tips and advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
    Paul
    cdad Posts: 12,700, Reputation: 1438
    Internet Research Expert

Jan 8, 2012, 03:41 PM
    Have you examined your phone bill? Many have a wiring plan included. If yours does not it still might be best to call in a professional and have then trace the wire. They use radio signals and can follow the wire even behind closed in walls.
    Stratmando Posts: 11,188, Reputation: 508
    Uber Member

Jan 8, 2012, 05:12 PM
    Black, orange, green and yellow are odd.
    Black, RED, green and yellow would make more sense,
    Red and green is usually line 1(or white/blue pair if cat wiring) and yellow black pair is line 2(orange/white, white/orange pair)