Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Im_a_writer Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Dec 5, 2011, 08:12 AM
    How do I get my work back?
    I can't find the workspace switcher and the bottom panel won't display hidden windows.

Here is how it started: I was working away when all of a sudden everything on my desktop slides left into oblivion.

I am not a programmer so please don't talk techspeak to me as that will only frustrate me further but I do know that my operating system is the Debian Ubuntu version of Linux. I speculate that when the upgrade from 9 to 11 that Ubuntu forced down my throat took away my old word processor (which worked perfectly well and I was happy with it) and stuck me with something called LibreOffice Writer that this new word processor is the source of the problem. It has a low capacity because it is constantly giving error messages about document recovery. Before I lost my normal desktop, one of these recovery problems was occurring.

I am a writer and nothing infuriates a writer more than bad word processing software. LibreOffice Writer also can lock up a thumb drive and render it useless but I have discovered ways to work around that. But I need my bottom panel back functioning and identifying minimized windows. Right now I cannot minimize anything because if I do, it is gone forever. This makes for a crowded desktop and extreme inconvenience to the point that I cannot work.

How do I get minimized and hidden windows to show on the bottom panel? Nothing in system preferences or administration helps and the Ubuntu website is all full of indecipherable unhelpful techspeak but no live humans to answer questions.

I can't be the only one who has had this problem.
    cmeeks Posts: 754, Reputation: 64

Dec 6, 2011, 11:26 AM