Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mhorton Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Dec 1, 2011, 08:02 AM
    I'm Graduating College Now What?
    I will be graduating college on December 16th with a BA in Professional Management and I have no idea what to do next. I can't afford graduate school now, I don't really have any leads for decent jobs, I currently work in retail and it makes me sick just to walk into my place of employment. I just feel like I wasted almost $60,000 on a degree and I will be in exactly the same place I was when I got out of high school no opportunities no doors have actually opened. I just don't understand why this whole college deal is practically forced on kids when most of the people I am graduating with can't find any jobs. Everyone keeps saying why don't you do an internship somewhere. Well I can't I have been on my own since I was 16 and most internships don't pay you anything and the ones that do are not enough to survive on. I'm not sure if anyone has advice for me , but it helps just to but it out there and see if someone might sling some encouragement my way.
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Dec 1, 2011, 08:12 AM
    Are you in a city or a rural area or something in between? Is your resume up to date? Are you willing to be open-minded and get your foot in the door somewhere? Are you willing to work at something unrelated to your degree and thus learn some general work skills that may pay off later? (e.g. I was trained to be a teacher but worked for two years for State Farm -- learned amazing things about life and work, picked up new skills)

Please give us some idea of where you live and what you're up against for that area (rural Wyoming or Mississippi or the Chicago West Side or Central Europe, no transportation, can't speak the language, etc.). I'm here to help you get your resume in good shape, if that's a problem.

Dec 1, 2011, 10:26 AM