Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Littlezummerme Posts: 21, Reputation: 2

Nov 1, 2011, 10:30 AM
    Will I be free from parents after high school?
    Okay right now I'm 14 almost 15 and I'm a freshman in High school Now I don't go to normal school I go to a online school. So I can go as fast or slow as I want. Now if I pass high school before I hit 16 (because I'm going really fast) will my parents still have control over me? Will I be free to do and go were I want? Will I have to go to Collage as soon as I finish high school even if I'm 16?
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Nov 1, 2011, 10:35 AM
    Where? It varies by State. You cannot be emancipated (on your own) in most States until you are 18 unless you are self supporting, have your own place to live, have finished your education at an earlier age.

Your choice whether to go to College is basically that - your choice.

As long as you live in their house, no matter how old you are, your parents will probably have control over you.

Why do you go to an online school?
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Nov 1, 2011, 10:37 AM
    Who will pay for college?

(And yes, you can go to college at 16 -- and even if you're ten years old, if the college accepts you).

Nov 1, 2011, 11:38 AM
    I go to an online school In Colorado. Im on the online school because my parents made me because they don't want me to have drama. Im just curious if I end up passing high school and finishing my senior year before I hit 18 will I be free to do what I want?
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Nov 1, 2011, 11:42 AM
    No, you won't be able to do what you want until you are 18.
    Uber Member

Nov 1, 2011, 11:50 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by Littlezummerme View Post