Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    thound Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Feb 5, 2007, 01:11 PM
    FICA taxes for Non-resident spouse treated as resident
    I'm a resident alien for tax purposes. My wife was on F-1 till June 2006, then OPT till Nov 2006, and H-1 afterwards. We elected to treat her as a resident for tax purposes when filing returns for 2004 and 2005.

My question is :
    Her employer did not withhold FICA taxes until she received her H-1B approval in Nov 2006, presumably because she was F-1 OPT.
    But since we file joint returns, I'm guessing that FICA taxes should've been withheld even when she was in F-1 OPT status. How do we go about correcting this ? Is this the employer's responsibility, and will we owe any penalties for underpayment as a result?

Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time,

thound
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 5, 2007, 11:33 PM
    It is the employer's responsibility. As long as your wife did not actively try to conceal her true status, she will not be held responsible.
    taxsearcher Posts: 222, Reputation: 8

Feb 6, 2007, 05:13 AM
    I believe that since you made the election to file as a resident, you probably needed to notify your employer that your wife was no longer a non-resident alien for tax purposes.
    Senior Tax Expert

Feb 6, 2007, 10:33 AM
    I agree with TaxSearcher that you did have that obligation to properly notify the employer that your wife was filing as a resident alien.

However, it has been my experience in these matters that many employers do NOT see the implications of such a notification, and continue to fail to withhold the taxes.

In any event, the IRS will not try to collect these taxes from your wife. They will go the employer for these taxes. Her employer may then try to collect these back taxes taxes from her.