Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    abest23 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Oct 10, 2011, 02:00 PM
    3 inch toilet flange sits directly on top of the 3 inch drian pipe
    DO they make smaller flanges? I pulled my toilet to put tile down and now can not get a flange on it. I am very frustrated and about ready to call a plumber.
    Attached Images

ballengerb1 Posts: 27,378, Reputation: 2280
    Home Repair & Remodeling Expert

Oct 10, 2011, 03:31 PM
    First off I think you are using the wrong type flange. The one in the pic appears to be a PVC made to be welded to PVC pipe. I'd go with an Oatey flange made for cast iron. 165 Cast Iron Flange :: Oatey.com You need to scrap that old drain clean

Oct 10, 2011, 03:40 PM
    ballengerb1- I probably do have the wrong flange. Im a rookie big time. Would I be able to find one of these at Lowe's? And the drain is 3 inches wide. Will I need a 3 inch flange or a smaller one so it will fit correctly? Thank you so much
    ma0641 Posts: 15,675, Reputation: 1012
    Uber Member

Oct 10, 2011, 06:28 PM
    It looks like a tricky install. Was the toilet flushing with that much buildup? How was the old flange attached. Most repair flanges, like the one Ballenger noted are designed to fit over the pipe. If you put something inside the 3" pipe, it will restrict the hole even more. This almost looks like a floor drain instead of a toilet setup.

Oct 10, 2011, 07:54 PM
    Yeah it was flushing just fine. It might be a floor drain. There is a rubber seal in between the drain pipes as well. You can see in one of the pictures my puddy knife is in between the pipes where the rubber seal is. So if this is a floor drain am I in trouble? WIll it be an expensive fix?
    Attached Images

puffmugs Posts: 184, Reputation: 21

Oct 10, 2011, 08:48 PM