Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Jin.Chan Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 1, 2011, 01:28 AM
    S1322 Corporation Act (Australia)
    Hi all,

I'm a beginner in Corporate law. I have a question about s1322. If there is defective notice, the meeting or any action taken in that meeting is not void merely because of a defect in notice of the meeting (i.e. Failure to give notice to a particular member). Thus, defective meeting may be cured by the general power under s1322. I don't understand what does it mean by 'cure' the defective notice? When I first read the act, I thought 'cure' the defective notice means the court declare the meeting is invalid but procedure irregularity is not the reason to do so at the same time.

Anyone, please help. Thanks in advance.
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert

Oct 1, 2011, 03:44 PM
    If you can give us a link to section 1322 I could double check, but since we more-or-less use the same language, I would assume that "cure" means to make it right. So, in this context, it would mean to do what is needed to make it as though the notice was valid.

One way to cure a defective notice such as this, say for example, notice of a meeting of a board of directors, would be for that member (director) who didn't get due notice to sign a waiver of notice of the meeting.
    Jin.Chan Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Oct 1, 2011, 09:05 PM
    http://www.austlii.edu.au/au/legis/cth/consol_act/ca2001172/s1322.html

Here it is ^^ Thanks xD
    AK lawyer Posts: 12,592, Reputation: 977
    Expert

Oct 2, 2011, 01:51 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by Jin.Chan View Post
    ... I don't understand what does it mean by 'cure' the defective notice? ...
    Section 1322 seems to leave it up to the court to devise a way to "cure" things. It is purposely vague, so as to give the court as many options as possible. Subsection 4 (d), for example suggests several things a court could do: