Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    billscout Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Feb 2, 2007, 02:23 AM
    Cleaning credit tips?
    Hi!
    I'll try to keep this as short as possible. I want to clean my credit up and, since I've never done this before, I need some advice. Here's my scenario:
    All of my negative marks on my credit report are from California. I now live in Nevada.
    I had a credit card from Capitol One with an original credit limit of $200, the debt now owed is $1245 and the last active date of the card is reported as 2000.
    I reportedly owe a Jewelry store $658. The actual amount I believe I owed was either $300 or $400 and this account was closed 01/02.
    An unknown account I owe $600 to was closed 11/03.
    I owe Washington Mutual Bank $532 from a bank account I had back in about 2000 or 2001. They just reported this debt to the credit reporting agencies on 08/06.
    And there is another mark on my credit report from a bartending school I attended briefly. I've disputed this claim a few times because I was lied to by the staff at the school in order to sign me up and I did not sign any documents agreeing to their terms. The disputes have been answered by the bartending school and, therefore, the mark still shows on my report (although it shows I owe nothing, it does show closed but also shows it's in collection).
    These are the only negative marks I have on my report. I don't mind paying the Washington Mutual account but I am not willing to pay the extra amounts the other accounts claim I owe. I'm willing to pay what I owe but not the extra amounts. Any ideas on how I can get these "cleaned" up from my reports?
    I've heard that I can call the company I owe the money to and request a letter from them stating that they will not respond to any credit reporting agency regarding the debt in return for the settlement. Is there any truth to this? Any advice or tips would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!