Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Lovely33 Posts: 76, Reputation: 12

Aug 16, 2011, 12:26 AM
    I don't drink, so I don't party?
    So, I'm a second year student and I don't really drink at all. I am too nervous of what will happen if I do. I can't trust anybody but myself. I am involved in greek life and live in a house on campus, but I just am having an inner conflict with letting lose and having fun, or doing the right and moral thing. I can admit I am a bit wound up, not uptight. I just don't really know what scene I belong to. I just don't think I'd be very good at the whole grinding with strangers thing. I realize no risk, no reward. But if the reward is to lose brain neurons... I don't know if I want to partake in such activities. I am totally social, I'm just nervous and always want to change the subject when a friend asks me to go out. What should I do?
    roxypox Posts: 1,028, Reputation: 328
    Ultra Member

Aug 16, 2011, 03:09 AM
    Well first of I don't think that having fun and going sober to a party should cause you to worrying about grinding with strangers (I'm just taking it for granted right now that you are talking about grinding as to rubbing up against one another... please correct me if I'm wrong!)

To go out and having fun with your friends if they are drinking and you are not might be difficult, but it is possible to go out and have fun and not have to end up grinding with strangers. It is possible to go out and just hang out and talk. If there is dancing and you like to dance than you can engage (but you have to know where to draw the line for yourself) Personally I usually don't dance and when I go out I talk to my friends or even strangers. The point is to have a good time, but having a good time doesn't necassaraly involve going over any line that you have drawn for yourself.

What do your friends normally do when they go out or are at a party?
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert