Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Caseman76 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jul 20, 2011, 09:48 AM
    Enlist now or go officer?
    I really want to be an officer, but I haven't even began college yet and I do not feel like I can wait 4 years to go into the Marines. I want to be in the Marines right now so I am feeling a strong urge to enlist, but I hear that enlisting first is not the best thing for someone who wants to be an officer. I know about the MECEP and all the enlisted commissioning programs but I hear that chances of being selected for it are not very high. I also kind of want to feel the camaraderie that enlisted Marines feel. I know officers are not allowed to hang out with the enlisted so I feel like if I was an Officer I would have no friends. Although I get really excited when I think about being the leader of a platoon of Marines. I got pretty good grades in high school but I feel like it will be hard for me to focus in college when all I want to do is be a Marine. I'm not really SUPER excited for the whole college social/party experience thing either. I like going to parties once and awhile but I am no party animal. Another reason I want to enlist is because I want to get out into the world right now, see new places, and be on my own, instead of living with my parents, or in the same state even. So I guess I am just kind of torn between sticking it out for 4 more years and trying to become an Officer (which is my main goal), or just going in now and hoping that I eventually get selected for MECEP. If I went to college now I could probably get around half of my college paid for through PLC, but the rest would have to be paid for through loans. I guess I am just looking for any Marines or Marine Officers, or anyone who knows a lot about the Corps that could give me some advice.
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Jul 20, 2011, 11:18 AM