Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    st07 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jan 30, 2007, 09:16 PM
    Traffic accident - financial responsibility (CA)
    This is the scenario. I currently have my learner's permit, but no license. I own a car - gifted to me recently by my sister. I could not get car insurance because I don't have a license. While driving my car, I hit another vehicle. My sister previously owned the vehicle. The insurance is still under her name, although ownership has changed. I am an excluded driver under her policy. Recently, I received a notice from the DMV to provide evidence of insurance (FORM SR1A) otherwise my license will be suspended. I have several questions:

1. can my license be suspended if I don't even have one? Does that mean I won't be able to get a license for a year or longer?
    2. I did not have insurance myself at the time, but the vehicle was insured. Does that count? Should I fill out the form with her insurance information as it does cover the vehicle.
    3. what is the worst that can happen in this scenario?

Any advice or help is greatly appreciated.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Jan 30, 2007, 09:40 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by st07
    1. can my license be suspended if i dont even have one? does that mean I wont be able to get a license for a year or longer?
    2. i did not have insurance myself at the time, but the vehicle was insured. does that count? should I fill out the form with her insurance information as it does cover the vehicle.
    3. what is the worst that can happen in this scenario?

Any advice or help is greatly appreciated.
    Hello st:

(1) Yes/yes.

(2) Liability insurance covers the driver. Comprehensive covers the vehicle. YOU had no liability insurance. Your sister did. The state doesn't care whether your sister (you) can fix HER/your car. They're interested in your liability coverage, and YOU ain't got that.