Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    LadySam Posts: 1,589, Reputation: 322
    Cats Expert

Jun 27, 2011, 05:08 PM
    Coping with death of a co-worker
    Forgive me in advance please if this gets lengthy.
    What I have is not an actual question it is more about tips to cope with the sudden death of a co-worker.
    Last Tuesday one of our co-workers was killed on her way home from work in a car accident. I have worked for 30 years and have never had to experience this. I work one day a week at a sister facility and that day was Wednesday, one of co-workers called me at lunch and told of the accident so that I wasn't just finding out when I returned to my full time facility on Thursday. I'm glad she did I at least had a chance to cycle through it somewhat.
    Thursday was a bad day when I stepped back into the clinic knowing that she would not be there. I had to excuse myself often and to the bathroom I went to pull myself together, as did others.
    The funeral was Friday, luckily I was off so could attend the services with no time constraints. I'm just returning today (Monday) another bad day. We all just kind of spent the day not talking about it and if we tried were in tears at the mention of her name.
    I know healing and grieving take time, but the fact that this has never happened to us before is making it a little difficult to handle.
    Usually the service cements it for me, I will always, remember that person and keep them in my heart, but I know I will never see them again.
    Don't get me wrong, I am not discounting the others feelings, we are a pretty tight group but this has thrown us for a loop.
    My particular situation is I have stomach ulcers and reflux, and when I am emotionally off kilter is when it really cuts up.
    This was only day 2 and I wound up at home at lunch just to lie down because I was in such pain. Even with my meds if I get upset this seems to happen.