Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    SBowman Posts: 71, Reputation: 6

Jan 29, 2007, 02:32 PM
    The Importance of Irrelavent Courses.
    Hi, I'm under a bit of a rush to get an answer from here, but I'd still like an answer that's confident. I live in Canada, but I'm sure the system isn't too far different from any other place concerning university. I'm going into Honors Art and Literature and planning on getting a Bachelors and then a Masters in English, History and German. However, I'm taking Calculus, only to please my parents and because I originally took it for a previous job aspiration. I am not good at math, I will assure you. If my Calculus mark sits at a 63%, will I have a good chance of being accepted into university still if the course is entirely irrelevant on the subject (my other marks are fairly high, sitting at the mid to high 80's, its just that my average is not 80% due to my Calculus mark).
    RubyPitbull Posts: 3,575, Reputation: 648
    Ultra Member

Feb 3, 2007, 11:25 AM
    I am not an academic advisor but I noticed your question remained unanswered and thought you might feel ignored.

Yes, the calculus mark, although unrelated in the field you are anticipating entering, will effect your overall grade point average. As to whether the university you apply to overlooks it is very difficult to say. I would like to think it depends on where you would like to go to continue your studies. But, I believe most schools initially look at the gpa and make their decisions for entry upon that.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Feb 3, 2007, 12:30 PM
    I will say that a 63 is failing and to fail a class can efffect getting into some colleges, others it will have little effect.

And one class will not effect highely your over all grade average for all 4 years of high school which is looked at. But not that highly at least in the US, it is your score on college entrance exams that have a lot of bearing.