Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    khunley6001 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Jun 17, 2011, 07:37 PM
    Can I get unemployment in Va if I am paid with 1099?
    I have been working in an office behind the owners house for 2 months. I am getting paid with 1099. I quit my w-2 paying job to work here for more money. The owner likes to scream and curse at all of his employees and threaten to fire everyone on a daily basis if something happens. We are transportation brokers and trucks break down, drivers change their minds, and a lot of the time he will tell us there are loads ready that aren't even there. Then if any of those things happen the whole office gets cursed and screamed at. We live in a very small town and there are very few jobs. I feel like I am stuck because I know how hard it will be to find something else. Will I be able to get unemployment if I am 1099 and I quit for unbearable work conditions?
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Jun 18, 2011, 02:05 AM
    No. Unemployment is for employed wage earners; you are a contractor if you get a 1099. However, what he is doing is illegal under IRS rules. You should be getting wages and a W-2. He's paying you more because you will owe higher taxes. Consider consulting with the others in the office about quitting en masse, confronting him with demands, turning him in, or whatever you want - but be careful that you know what you are getting into.

And you don't get unemployment because you quit even with wages, except in some circumstances like the company moving far away, reducing your hours and or pay, etc. Yelling isn't grounds.
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Jun 18, 2011, 08:22 AM

The employer is not following IRS rules for what constitutes an independent contractor/1099 employee.

You have a sort of "pay under the table" arrangement and, thus, no benefits. That includes no unemployment benefits.