Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    211184 Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

May 17, 2011, 12:29 AM
    Why is it so difficult convincing people
    Hi.. I am a 26 year old doctor doing post graduation , it so happened that I met a chartered accountant and fell in love with him.. we had decided that we would marry only if our parents agree. His mother didn't agree initially ,so we thought that's it we are leaving it but the day we broke up we started missing each other a lot.. he got engaged but broke his engagement cause he still loved me... he then convinced his family for me.. but now when he has come back there are problem s in my family that he s not a doctor ,does not belong to same caste and community.. I tried my level bast to convince my parents.. they did for my happiness.. but now my relatives have intruded and have started questioning my parents and are trying to change their mind.. my parents are finding it difficult to convince them... parents think every body should agree for my marriage... now should I break every thing for relatives, I cannot marry anybody but him... I got to be alone if not him. I am depressed right now... I feel suicidal.. I hope I can find some help from you guys...
    Jake2008 Posts: 6,721, Reputation: 3460
    Emotional Health Expert

May 17, 2011, 06:03 AM
    I am hoping that someone from your culture, will respond to your post and offer some suggestions as to what to do.

I am in Canada, and none of the problems you present don't happen here, as we are free to marry for a 'love' marriage, without regard to deep traditional, generational restrictions that you have to face.

From my perspective you are caught between two huge losses. Lose the one you love for the sake of your family, or lose the family for the sake of the man you love. While your parents may be on board now, they will face consequences as well depending on your choice.