Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    mike28 Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Apr 29, 2011, 12:04 PM
    What will happen to a minor charged with theft in the state of Maryland?
    I bought a item from a friend but didn't know it was stolen.. my intentions were to sell the item for more money, the school police officer is charging me with theft. What will happen to me?
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Apr 29, 2011, 12:07 PM

How come the person you bought the item from didn't get charged with theft?

Apr 29, 2011, 12:16 PM
    The person I bought it from has a bad record.. I think he has been charged as well... I have NO record... never been in trouble with the law. I just want to know what could possibly happen to me

Apr 29, 2011, 04:23 PM
    What happens to a minor charged with theft in Maryland?
    I am a freshman with NO criminal record, and I bought a stolen item without knowing it was stolen... I am being charged with theft because the law in Maryland states: "any person in possesion of a stolen item is enough to proove that person of theft"... what will happen?
    Expert

Apr 29, 2011, 04:25 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by mike28 View Post
    The person I bought it from has a bad record.. I think he has been charged aswell... I have NO record... never been in trouble with the law. I just want to know what could possibly happen to me
    Before you gave me a 'not helpful' I was asking a question to clarify my answer. If you had waited, I would have given you an answer. I don't think the charge is valid, but how can we know what will happen in court, every case is different.

Tick
    Expert

Apr 29, 2011, 04:30 PM

On second thought, mike, why would you assume to get an answer right away? Don't you think we need to know more details before we can give you an answer, if we can that is.
    Expert

Apr 29, 2011, 04:35 PM