Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    blagosphere Posts: 22, Reputation: 4

Apr 23, 2011, 01:34 PM
    home décor for dummies
    I'm a 22yo bachelor-ette college student, and I live with my younger sister and two cats. My project this summer will be to redecorate our house on a small budget. My grandmother and my mother keep offering me "advice", but it's all too expensive and/or opposite of my tastes (doilies, gag)...

BEDROOM : it's a smaller room, about 10x9ft, with a lot of furniture in it. My plan is to repaint, switch out some furniture, and introduce better storage/organizers. Budget = $150
    • How can I take advantage of vertical space and add "height" to the bedroom?
    • The previous owners painted the room this really hideous, dark, pink-like color; I'm planning on a neutral+blue color scheme: can you please send me pics for inspiration?

I will update with pics as I go along, but more detailed updates will be at my blog for the sake of brevity : http://omgtoast217.blogspot.com/
    tickle Posts: 23,796, Reputation: 2674
    Expert

Apr 23, 2011, 01:47 PM

Blago, I really hate to say this but we are all volunteers here with full time jobs and give our time to answering questions. I can offer a bit of advice after I ingest most of your information but, truthfully, only someone coming in to see your space can offer advice on colour, mobility of space and taking great advantage of what you have.

I don't know if you have this in the states, but up here in Canada we have decorating stores that offer a service of assisting with space problems and colours if you tell them what it is you want to do. I do believe you have Home Depot type stores and they are quite happy to help.

You have asked us a question that actually goes beyond our scope, like 'can you please send me pics of inspiration'.. We are not interior decorators my dear, sorry.

Tick

Apr 23, 2011, 06:26 PM