Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Patib Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Apr 11, 2011, 02:18 PM
    Discrimination
    I worked as a temporary assistant with another girl, my position is a hourly position and the other girl was a salary position. The other girl was promoted to another position and now I am the only one working the position in hope that they would hire me permanent to take her position. The job is no longer salary, it is now an hourly job. Other than the girl I was working with I am the only other person in the whole plant who knows that job. The job has now been posted for anyone else to apply. The word around the plant is that the job is going to be given to someone else who is already permanent and has more siniority than I do because I am a temporary employee who's been called back 3 times and this last time I have been there since August 2010. Is this considered discrimination and if so can I file a discrimination suite against them.
    Eileen G Posts: 1,571, Reputation: 286
    Ultra Member

Apr 11, 2011, 02:28 PM

If the job is being advertised as a salaried job, then apply for it yourself, and if you don't get it (bearing in mind your experience at the job), then you may have grounds for discrimination.

Otherwise, it could be an exercise in trying it keep the staff figures low. Permanent salaried employees are more expensive to the company than worker they pay by the hour.
    I wish Posts: 5,296, Reputation: 2030
    Family & People Expert

Apr 11, 2011, 02:42 PM
    You have a different position from the job advertise.

You never had that position, you are just taking on the load of work that the person left behind. If there's a job posting, then you should apply for it. That would make the process more fair, because if they just gave you the job, then no one else would have the opportunity to apply for it.