Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    steve24brown Posts: 9, Reputation: 1

Apr 1, 2011, 01:51 PM
    Can a bank take coroperate funds to cover personal debt
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Apr 1, 2011, 01:52 PM

Where? As a general rule, no. What kind of personal debt?

Apr 1, 2011, 01:55 PM
    Comment on JudyKayTee's post
    In Florida. I am an officer of a the corp. I had a personel account that was overdrawn with them, the setoff against my corp account,
    Uber Member

Apr 1, 2011, 01:56 PM

The advantage of forming a legal corporation is protection from corporate debts - and the other way around. Was the bank aware that you are legally incorporated?

I thought you were talking about a creditor taking action against you. A bank moving from one account to another "may" be different. Banks are notorious for making up rules as they go along.

Let me check - if someone else gets here first, hopefully they will have an answer.

Apr 1, 2011, 01:59 PM
    Comment on JudyKayTee's post
    That was my understanding as well. I just can't find any written
    Laws to back me up.
    excon Posts: 21,482, Reputation: 2992
    Uber Member

Apr 1, 2011, 02:05 PM

Hello s:

Your corporation is NOT responsible for your personal debts. They are separate entities. If the bank took corporate money, I'd ask them to give it back or you'll sue them.

excon

Apr 1, 2011, 02:08 PM
    Comment on excon's post
    That is what I am trying to accomplish. Just want to find a written statute or something to back me up before I take the next step
    Uber Member

Apr 1, 2011, 02:17 PM

Hello again, steve:

If the bank executive DOESN'T understand basic corporate LAW, then he's not going to believe you no MATTER what you bring him. Don't try to convince them. SUE THEM! Certainly the JUDGE knows the law.

excon

Apr 1, 2011, 02:22 PM
    Comment on excon's post