Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    rockerchick_682 Posts: 496, Reputation: 72

Mar 30, 2011, 05:45 PM
    Stuck in a lease in a horrible apartment
    My neighbors are horrible. There are constant bass vibrations all day and until well past midnight. I close my windows, I have heavy curtains, I've put foam under my rugs and around my bed. I've talked to the management, the night patrol and the police. Because they can't hear the sounds outside the apartment complex, even though the vibrations are coming from the basement and I live on the third floor, nothing has changed. I get chronic migraines and the noise sure isn't helping. I'm a full time student and I can't do my homework in my apartment. What's the point in living in an apartment, an expensive apartment, when you never want to be in it? I have six months left on the lease? How do I get out? Please help!

P.S. All of you on here that want to desperately say "deal with it", or "you're just too anal", keep it to yourself. I'm looking for advice.
    Fr_Chuck Posts: 81,301, Reputation: 7692
    Expert

Mar 30, 2011, 06:31 PM

First you can not decide who answers are what type of advice, if that is part of the attitude you are using to deal with things, that well could be your problem.

You can of course record it, video tape the vibrations if they are that strong. And MOVE, then use that in your defense when the landlord sues you.

What is the other neighbors saying, what about the one between you and the basement ?
    ScottGem Posts: 64,966, Reputation: 6056
    Computer Expert and Renaissance Man

Mar 30, 2011, 07:46 PM

Have you asked the management if they will let you out of the lease or allow a buy out?

Mar 31, 2011, 12:04 AM
    Comment on ScottGem's post
    I have asked, there is the option to pay two months rent to move out. I cannot afford this.

Mar 31, 2011, 12:06 AM
    Comment on Fr_Chuck's post