Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    sharper11 Posts: 369, Reputation: 102

Mar 24, 2011, 09:52 AM
    Car "Idle" Surges when I release Accelerator
    About 2 weeks ago I had an issue with my 1998 Nissan 200sx. The Car (Cold or Hot) would stall when I started it. Following simple instructions from my cousin (a mechanic), he suggested to clean the Idle Air Controller using a Carb/Choke Cleaner. I did it just as he said, waited 20 min, installed it and... WOW, Car started right up, and held a good idle.

BUT (there is always a but).. . Now when I am driving, If I am above 2000rpm and let go of the accelerator, the car will drop to 1500 rpm and surge up to 2000rpm about 4 times and then stop. (during heavy traffic, it has caused me to have to hit the brakes to avoid an accident).

---So, does anyone have input? I heard that this could mean there is TOO much air getting to the Throttle Body now.

I'm not a mechanic, but a DIY'er willing to get my hands dirty. I've been doing routine and intermediate work to my OWN cars.. . An issue only when I do not have the right tool. :)
    I am hoping this is something I could do myself.
    TxGreaseMonkey Posts: 16,761, Reputation: 5597
    Uber Member

Mar 24, 2011, 11:03 AM

. Ensure there are no vacuum leaks.

. Check for codes--the Crankshaft Position Sensor may be bad.

I recently replaced the Camshaft Position Sensor in a friend's 2006 Nissan Altima. Afterwards, it fired right up.

Mar 24, 2011, 11:14 AM
    Comment on TxGreaseMonkey's post
    OK, I'll check for vacuum leaks. The check engine light hasn't come on, could there still be an error code?
    Uber Member

Mar 24, 2011, 11:23 AM

There may be a "soft" code, which may tip you off before a "hard" code is thrown and the CEL comes on. Soft codes sometimes portend problems before a component really starts to fail. I suspect an ignition system problem, in your case. The IACV shouldn't have any bearing on your car dying while you are driving.