Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    jennann Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Mar 20, 2011, 08:52 AM
    Should I claim back my puppy?
    3,5 weeks ago I got a 7 weeks old female boxer puppy. Unfortunately I had to give her away to a rescue center, since as I thought I didn't have enough time for her and it would be better for her in future. The puppy was a present for me from my boyfriend. We live together. I am a student and he works away. He is 1 month away and 1 month at home. Sometimes I am not at home for most of the day because of my studies and courses I have to take. The puppy is being left alone, locked up in apartment. Even when I get back home I cannot play much with her as I have to study. Recently I have been noticing that she started following me everywhere and not eating unless I was next to her. She would ven follow me with food in her mouth while eating. That was disturbing for me. Also, she won't go into garden on her own, only when I am with her. Sometimes I would run away unnoticed so that she could play on her own there. But after a while she would go back inside. I started reading in the internet and came across a condition called separation anxiety when the stress of being left alone even for short periods can be overwhelming for puppies with all the negative implications. Anyway I started seriously thinking if I am the right owner for her and if she is going to be happy for me. With my studies and my boyfriend being away for 1 month, I decided to give her away to the rescue center hoping that they will find her a good home and owner who would be able to devote her more time. According to them puppies are rehomed quickly and they check on the new owners. Anyway, I am so sad right now. The house is empty without her and I miss her badly. Also, I can't helping thinking what owner she will end up with. I just want her to settle well. I am so confused. I am even thinking about taking her back, but the questions if would it be the right thing fo