Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    tomkovoor Posts: 12, Reputation: 1

Mar 17, 2011, 10:24 AM
    CA capital gains and losses question
    I had a question with regards to capital gains and losses for CA. I am using turbo tax to do my taxes and in the capital gains and losses section they ask on CA source of income for the stocks. Not sure what is meant by CA source of income. I had questions about 3 situations

1: Stocks I brought when I lived in NJ and sold off there? Do I need to report these in CA?
    2: Stocks I brouhgt when in NJ and sold when in CA? How do I calculate percentage of CA income in those
    3: Stocks of company that I brought when in both states and sold in CA?

Also I was a resident of NJ in 2009 and lived there for 4 months in 2010 before moving permenantely to CA. Whne I file my NJ taxes do I file as part year resident or non resident? ANy kind of help is appreciated.

Regards
    Tom
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Mar 17, 2011, 10:57 AM

You file in both CA and in NJ as a part-year resident. You pay tax to NJ on the income you made for the 4 months you lived there, and you pay taxes to CA on the income you made for the 8 months you lived there. For capital gains income you apportion your gains based solely on the date you sold the stock. So if you sell stock while living in NJ you pay tax on it to NJ (not CA), and if you sell stock while living in CA you pay tax on it it to CA (not NJ - even if you bought the stock while living in NJ). However - the way the tax forms work you will actually report ALL income to BOTH states - it's just that the actual taxes you owe to each will be based only on your income while living or working in that state.

Mar 17, 2011, 11:49 AM
    Does the same apply for dividends as well?
    Expert

Mar 17, 2011, 12:14 PM
    Quote Originally Posted by tomkovoor View Post
    Does the same apply for dividends as well??