Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Naphtha Posts: 4, Reputation: 1

Mar 13, 2011, 12:52 PM
    Can you sue the biological father if you find out who he is as an adult
    I am a student and am working on a case study regarding the "Wayne Patchett" situation:
    This involves an adult woman who finds out this dead beat alcoholic is her biological father after she confronts his parents "Gary Patchett" and "Betty Patchett", the grandparents. They do everything to validate the paternity and it comes out positive. What are the statutes in which the now adult child can pursue compensation for the abandonment by Wayne Patchett?
    His parents are retired and Waynes misereable alcoholism has left him impoverished and living in a basement apartment, thus he is a 52 year old man who's only prospect is to inherent his parents assets.

Any help would be greatly appreciated it's a doozy of a case but I'm thinking there is a means to begin the process of fighting for justice.
    mandybaldwin Posts: 13, Reputation: 2

Mar 13, 2011, 12:58 PM
    I think if the father has probibly sufferd a lot I'm not trying to be on his side cause I don't agree with the disowning of his daughter but alcholism is a disease my opinion instead of going after him for compensation for it make sure the assets of his parents don't go near him. But no contact of any kind from the father unless the daughter is willing. I just don't think dragging out a long court app would benefit her if he is broke. If for some reason he comes into money maybey have something written that she is to get a portion of that.
    joypulv Posts: 21,591, Reputation: 2941
    current pert

Mar 13, 2011, 01:13 PM
    Where (what country, what province, what state)?
    I'm not seeing a doozy of a case; were you assigned this or did you choose it?
    Were was the mother for 18 years? Did she ever go to court? Did she provide for her daughter, or was the child taken from her, or did she give her up?