Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    Eve88271 Posts: 5, Reputation: 1

Mar 5, 2011, 11:11 AM
    Substitute Teacher fired after complaint
    Hi,

I had a question over something that happened to me recently. I had been subbing in a school district for about 6 months. I have no real strong interest to pursue teaching but this was something I was doing because I'm a recently college grad who can't find a job in the field I have a degree in. But anyway, I was due to cover a 6th grade reading class for a 3 day period. Things seemed to go well except I'd have the occasional trouble makers who would talk aloud or be disruptive. However, since the teacher left a quiz for the students when they came back, I felt a little bad about kicking anyone out.

I was surprised that at the end of the second day of subbing, I was called into the principal's office. She told me a parent had written a complaint in about me because I told a kid to "shut up" and apparently told the whole class they "were pissing me off." She asked about it and I told her when I said "shut up" it was jokingly and that there was no malicious intent in that since we were both smiling. She talked to me for about 5 minutes and then said she would talk to a couple of kids in that class.