Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    kssk2 Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Mar 2, 2011, 09:51 AM
    2010 Taxes: Married Filing Jointly question about claiming credit & income allocation
    Hi Tax Gurus,

I am a resident of CA (since 2007) and my wife was a resident of IL (since 2006). We got married in June 2010 and in Sept 2010 she moved to CA. I work in CA on H1, while she is on H4 after the move. My income is from CA and her income was from IL until the move and she has no income in CA.

My questions:
    1. We believe married filing jointly is the best option. True?
    2. For CA state return, what form to file and do we declare all worldwide income (including IL)?
    3. For IL state return, what form to file and do we declare all worldwide income or only her income earned in IL?
    4. Can I claim a credit in CA return for paying taxes to IL?

I read about CA being community property state - so half the income I earned from June to Dec 2010 belongs to my wife. Do we have to split it this way even if we are filing jointly? Do we have to declare this split allocation in IL or CA state returns even if we are filing jointly? Eg: in #3 above, for IL state return should we declare her IL income and half of my June-Dec earnings?

Thanks,
    Sivaram
    ebaines Posts: 12,131, Reputation: 1307
    Expert

Mar 2, 2011, 10:29 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by kssk2 View Post
    My questions:
    1. We believe married filing jointly is the best option. True?
    Generally yes, unless either of you have some extraordinary write-offs that might be limited by your joint income level (such as high medical expenses, or casualty losses). You can always run the numbers both ways and see. If you are using tax software like Turbotax it will determine which filing status is best automatically.

2. For CA state return, what form to file and do we declare all worldwide income (including IL)?