Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    MikeS15 Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Feb 25, 2011, 02:10 PM
    Chances at Alternative Measures/Diversion Program? Please Help? In BC, Canada.
    I am a first time offender of Theft under $5000. I admitted to taking $121 at my work. (jacket&shoes). This happened in BC, Canada. I am truly remorseful of my actions. I want to pay back my work but I feel if I go back, that's trespassing. I cannot afford a lawyer, I am a full-time student, and I was fired which I deserve. 3 other people were caught stealing and they were let go. No arrest/charge, which feels unfair, but I committed the crime nonetheless. So I want to know,my chances at getting diverted or into the alternative measures program. I plan on going on my court date and talking to duty counsel and hope I can get diverted. I am a criminal law student, and I'm planning on transferring to university soon, and this charge can ruin my chances at future employment and travelling. I admit I made a STUPID mistake which I regret terribly, I am trying to pay back my work, but my manager says I have to wait until I am contacted. I would take it back if I could...
    Any answers would be helpful.. thank you!
    JudyKayTee Posts: 46,503, Reputation: 4600
    Uber Member

Feb 25, 2011, 02:14 PM

You may not qualify because it's employee theft - BC is similar to Ontario: “Ontario diversion program guidelines vary from region to region, courthouse to Courthouse. Eligibility for such a program is ALWAYS determined by the Crown Attorney's office. There are no exceptions. You are not required to have legal counsel in order to apply.

Here is something I wrote: