Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    good1212 Posts: 1, Reputation: 1

Feb 22, 2011, 06:48 AM
    TAx advice
    I am an international student (F1-Visa) on OPT working full time. I am worried about filing my tax this year... uknowingly I filed tax for last 2 years through Turbo-tax online. But now I came to know that it not legal for me to file tax through turbo tax as its only for resident or us citizen.

I am seeking advice... as I am now on OPT.. whats better option for me to file taxes.. as I will applying for H1-B visa... I don't want to face any problem... My university provide CINTAX support for international and OPT student.Should I go ahead with CINTAX and file tax... please let me know

Or if you have any number to contact anr any consultant.. I can call you.
    AtlantaTaxExpert Posts: 21,836, Reputation: 846
    Senior Tax Expert

Mar 11, 2011, 01:50 PM
    If you wish to talk, email me at [email protected] or [email protected] and I will send you a phone number.

You DID file incorrectly in the past years, and you DO need to fix it by amending your return with Form 1040X and attaching properly-prepared Forms 1040NR-EZ and 8843 to the Form 1040X.

Your mistake is a common one, so do not get overly concerned. You need only to correct it as noted above, and everything will be fine.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Tax advice on renting rooms [ 1 Answers ]

If you were to rent out rooms in your first home( and receiving a first time home buyers credit). Is it better to consider half the home as a rental and get rental related deductions(i.e home improvements and maintence). Or is it better to not declare the income from the rented rooms but then lose...

Tax advice for Canadian Tax Return [ 1 Answers ]