Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    BenAssa Posts: 21, Reputation: -1

Feb 3, 2011, 09:13 PM
    How to choose a jump box (jump starter)
    There are so many out there, and I'm a bit lost
    I wonder what are the differences between them, and what should I be looking for
    (I drive a 2001 Chevy Astro if that matters)
    kitch428 Posts: 1,440, Reputation: 152
    Ultra Member

Feb 3, 2011, 09:22 PM

It depends. Are you a professional like myself? Or just want to keep one handy for that "special" day.
    For the latter, I recommend Harbor Freight. Just shop price.
    BenAssa Posts: 21, Reputation: -1

Feb 3, 2011, 09:27 PM
    Thanks for the quick reply
    I just want it for "emergencies", I am not a pro, but also don't drive much, so the battery dies every few months
    But I shopping for price I bought a cheap jack for emergencies, and last week it broke under the weight of my car, so I had to throw it away, and call my insurance company's roadside assistance
    TxGreaseMonkey Posts: 16,761, Reputation: 5597
    Uber Member

Feb 4, 2011, 07:22 AM

I recommend that you buy an old-fashioned 6 amp. Battery charger with an ammeter (e.g. Schauer), remove the battery, and charge it until the ammeter doesn't cut back anymore--usually between 1 and 2 amps. With jumpers, I've seen people fry their ECMs--due to voltage spikes. It doesn't take much. My dad bought an expensive charger/jumper several years ago--it's temperamental and won't even charge the battery sometimes. I'm always suggesting that he just use his old charger.

Here's an example of what I'm suggesting:

http://compare.ebay.com/like/2206216...=263602_309572

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

How do you jump the starter directly on a '93 Honda Civic [ 1 Answers ]