Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    pandora28 Posts: 4, Reputation: 2

Jan 30, 2011, 03:57 PM
    401K non-resident alien worth it?
    Hi there,

I just joined a company that that gives me an automatic 3.5% to my 401K and, additionally, matches a 100% of my first 6% contribution.

I am planning to stay in the US for a couple of years and then cash out my 401K and bring it back to Spain to spend it (probably in a house). I know there is a 10%? Penalty for early withdrawal and then the taxes. I guess that if I opt for the Roth 401K this taxes part wouldn't apply, but I also read something about cashing it out once I'm back in Spain to avoid the taxes. Anyhow, I was wondering if still after these retentions it would be worthwhile contributing whatsoever. As you folks can see I'm a newbie and would appreciate any help!

Thanks in advance

Antonio

Check out some similar questions!

401k options for non-resident alien (cash out or rollover?) [ 5 Answers ]

I'm a 45 year old citizen and resident of Costa Rica. I have never been a US-resident, nor did I ever work in the US. Because I have never worked within the US, I do not have an official SSN. However, I worked for a US multinational for many years in various locations and participated in their...

401k withdrawal by non-resident alien [ 1 Answers ]

I am a non-resident alien aged 62, living in Europe and working for a US company. I have never lived in the US or paid tax there. Up until 2002 I was on the company's US payroll, and I have a 401k. Since then, I have been "localized" in France on a local payroll. I plan to retire in 2003. Will I...

401K Early Withdrawal & Non-resident Alien [ 1 Answers ]

Hello, I have been living in the US since 1996. I am married to a US Citizen. We plan to move to my home country, Czech Republic, in 6 years (2013). I have less than 100K in my 401K account now, however, with my current contributions, I will likely have around 230K at 2013 (depending on the...