Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    aabdallah3 Posts: 6, Reputation: 1

Jan 15, 2011, 09:51 PM
    Money with sketching?
    I'm a high school student and I'm good at sketching or making my own designs like heart designs or something, and I'm looking for being something that has to do with sketching when I hopefully go to college
    But I need some help, I want to know if I could make a living out of this or not, *** help
    Here are some of my sketches
    Attached Images

CKoth Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jan 15, 2011, 10:16 PM
    YOu could probably do anything you want, just if you do choose to go to school for art, try to be more widened with you talent, practice drawing different things in different medias and then it will be easier to show people you can do more then just sketch anime. Plus if you keep practicing your proportions you pictures will get better, I still think you have much to improve but you don't lack talent, you just to build on it more and train yourself more.
    Wondergirl Posts: 39,354, Reputation: 5431
    Jobs & Parenting Expert

Jan 15, 2011, 10:22 PM

You're a very good artist.

No, you won't be able to make a living with your art unless you connect with a publisher that needs an artist and you fit the requirements. That's highly unlikely, since good artists are a dime a dozen.

Two cases in point -- my younger son is a gifted artist who minored in studio art but has never made a penny with his art, but then, he hasn't tried to do so very much. A young coworker is a gifted artist who attended Chicago's Art Institute and later created a video game for which he did the art. It's selling rather well thanks to connections he made at video game fairs and shows.

So it depends on your effort and connections and pure luck.