Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    lalalaolala Posts: 7, Reputation: 1

Jan 12, 2011, 06:51 PM
    F1 status, non-resident alien, $8000 tax credit and "saving clause."
    Hi,
    My situation is a little complicated so I need some help for my 2011 tax filing.
    I came to the States in 2005 on F1 visa and worked for 1 year (2009-2010) on OPT. Since July 2010, I am on another F1 visa for graduate school. I also bought a condo in April, 2010.
    1)since I have been in the States for more than 5 years, I think I am considered a resident Alien starting 2011, so I am eligible for the $8000 tax return. I guess I should also file 1040.
    2) I also have salaries (on OPT) from Jan 1st 2010 to April 2010, which should be also filed (with 1040)
    3) I became a student from July 2010 to till and receive stipend (I don't work for the school, it is just a scholarship/stipend/fellowship)
    4) Finally, even though I am a resident alien, I think there is a "saving clause" rule, which states that even after you become a resident alien, you can still get exemptions from your scholarship)
    See: onresident Alien Who Becomes a Resident Alien