Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    erika_ann77 Posts: 2, Reputation: 1

Jan 11, 2007, 07:17 PM
    Leaving preschool to nanny for family in class
    Hi!
    I've been working at the same early childhood center for over two years. About one year ago, I began picking up a two girls before school. I wake them up, get them ready and we're off. The family pays me well for doing this every morning and it has been a nice supplement to my income. Now, the family has asked me to nanny for the two girls and is willing to pay me 10000 more a year than what I am making now. This is a hard offer to refuse as ECE teachers don't make much to begin with. I would absolutely LOVE this opportunity but I'm afraid it's unethical. I didn't pursue them but none the less, I don't want my employer to be upset. I am very valued at my work and would be leaving along with a family from my school. There is a waiting list to get into the school so I don't think the school would go broke, but I think that's beside the point. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks
    Erika
    Illusion Posts: 195, Reputation: 33

Apr 15, 2007, 08:59 PM
    I would give the center a 2 week notice - or more if you feel comfortable - and write a letter of how much I have enjoyed working there, how much I have learned, etc. If this opportunity pays more and you want the job, by all means take it. I would be discreet about why I am leaving. I would say something like, "I'm taking a new position that is more suitable to my schedule/goals/life. I need to make a change." Your employer may get angry - but you need to look out for number one. Good luck.

Not your question? Ask your question View similar questions

Question Tools Search this Question
Search this Question:

Advanced Search

Add your answer here.

Check out some similar questions!

Nanny Mcphee [ 7 Answers ]