Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    duce432 Posts: 22, Reputation: 1

Jan 6, 2007, 05:54 PM
    Unsweating trap arm
    I have a 90 degree cast copper elbow as a stub out for a bathroom sink with a 1.50 inch trap arm soldered into the 90 degree elbow. I need to replace the trap arm so I heated up the elbow to unsweat the joint and instead of the trap arm coming loose from the heat the other side of the 90 degree elbow unsweated itself. Could someone tell me what I did wrong and what I should do next. I was trying to remove the trap arm so I could and a male 1.5 inch threaded adapter. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Tom thank you for your response and let me try to redescribe the problem. I do have a cast copper 90 stubout coming out of the wall. After the 90 they sweated in a piece of copper pipe and then they soldered in the trap arm as you described. I unsweated the trap arm from the piece of copper pipe and tried to unsweat the piece of copper pipe from the 90 and that is when the other end of the 90 became unsoldered. What I'm trying to do is add a male 1.5 inch threaded adapter to the 90 so I can convert to PVC like you suggested.

Tom thank you for your response and let me try to redescribe the problem. What I have is a 90 cast copper and then they soldered in a piece of copper pipe to the 90 elbow then they soldered the chrome trap arm into the copper pipe as you have described. Iam replacing my bathroom sink so I would like to remove the chrome trap arm and add a 1.5 inch threaded adapter to the elbow so I can convert to pvc. I unsweated the chrome trap arm from the copper pipe OK. But when I tried to unsweat the copper pipe from the elbow the 90 elbow became unsoldered.

Tom I hope this is a better description.
    speedball1 Posts: 29,301, Reputation: 1939
    Eternal Plumber

Jan 7, 2007, 07:18 AM
    Quote Originally Posted by duce432