Ask Experts Questions for FREE Help !
Ask
    person Posts: 3, Reputation: 1

Jan 4, 2007, 10:22 PM
    401k to IRA
    I will be age 59 in February and would like to change my 401k money to an ordinary IRA account asap, if this is possible w/out too much expense. My 401k is a Schwab account, and if they could switch it to one of their ira accounts that would be great. I have no idea even what I'm talking about and would like to know the rulesfor 59 1/2 and before on this issue.
    Thank you.
    RichardBondMan Posts: 832, Reputation: 66

Jan 4, 2007, 10:28 PM
    I am no tax expert or financial planner though I am licensed to handle 401(k)'s and IRA's, just not currently active and have not been active in area for some time. It's my opionion you should encounter no tax consequences or penalties even though you are not quite 59 1/2 yet. Just make sure it's rolled over from the 401(k) provider directly to the IRA provider - in other words, never touch the money, check yourself. Have the 401(k) send the money directly to the IRA. Your best source of advice is a trained financial planner, tax attorney, CPA or, if you trust them, the 401(k) or IRA provider. I welcome any comments on my answer, I may be wrong but hope my two cents helps you somewhat.
    RichardBondMan Posts: 832, Reputation: 66

Jan 4, 2007, 10:36 PM
    You must have accidentally posed this question twice, here is the answer I gave on the 2nd exact question: